Partitions and CSS: Client Matter Codes (CMCs) and Forced Authorization Codes (FACs)

Partitions and CSSs work well when you want to say, “you NEVER have access to dial these numbers.” However, what if you wanted to say, “Well, you have access SOMETIMES, but we’ll definitely know when you’re doing it.” Welcome to Client Matter Codes (CMCs) and Forced Authorization Codes (FACs). In this Nugget, Jeremy walks through the purpose of each feature and how to implement it.


Client Matter Codes (CMCs)

  • Requires a code before dialing a number
  • One code does it all, all codes created equal
  • Used for departmental billing

Forced Authorisation Codes (FACs)

  • Requires a code before dialing a number
  • Codes assigned different levels of access
  • Used to compliment dialing restrictions

Client Matter Codes (CMCs)

Call Routing -> Client Matter Codes

  • 8801 – Accounting
  • 8802 – Sales
  • 8803 – Tech Support

Route Patterns -> ‘Require Client Matter Code’ tickbox

Call number, followed by a beep, dial the code followed by HASH. (Interdigit Timeout)

Forced Authorisation Codes (FACs)

Call Routing -> Forced Authorisation Codes

9901 = Code
10 = Level

9902 = Code
20 = Level

9903 = Code
30 = Level

Under Route Pattern -> Require Authorization Level = 10
To dial these digits, you must have a level 10 or above.

Dial local call, beep, enter code and hash, you must have level 10 or above for example on the route pattern.

You normally use CMC or FAC, not both!

A partition and CSS approach can be taken for CMC and FAC. A partition is created purely for CMC/FAC.